Windows 11 Rollback: How to Uninstall Windows 11 and Downgrade to Windows 10

Windows 11 insider is already here, you might be tempted to test out the new OS for yourself – now, here's how to go back. Windows 11 Rollback

Windows 11 Rollback: How to Uninstall Windows 11 and Downgrade to Windows 10
Windows 11 Rollback

The Windows 11 insider builds are here and have offered a lot of excitement to scores of Microsoft PC users in terms of what's included in the next-generation operating system. If you've managed to get past the initial period of confusion surrounding TPM chips, compatible processors, and which devices will support Windows 11, chances are, by now, you'll have a pretty good feel for the latest Windows OS.

Now in store, after you have the experience, if you don't want to stick to the Insider beta channels and go back to a Windows 10 build you previously ran on your PC, Microsoft is thankfully giving you the opportunity to do so. Allows that too. Here's a step-wise guide looking at how you can back up (or uninstall) your Windows 11 beta update to downgrade your PC back to Windows 10 if that's what you want at the moment.

(Backup Your Files Before Downgrading Windows 11)

Before you proceed with the process of rolling back Windows 11, it's a good idea to back up all your important files. While going back to Windows 10 will not erase your data, it is generally considered good practice to make sure that your data is backed up in case the update goes wrong for some reason.

Several common reasons can contribute to a rollback installation faltering, in which case you risk losing your data. So, make sure all your sensitive files are either uploaded to a cloud storage drive or copied to a local external drive – in this case.

(How to Windows 11 Rollback to Windows 10 in 10 Steps)

Thankfully, the way to go about the Windows 11 Rollback process isn't overly complicated and can be done directly through a tool found in Microsoft's Settings options. Like this

  1. Click on the Start button and click on Settings
  2. Under Settings, click Windows Update. Here, the ‘More Options’ sub-head – ‘Advanced options. Under this, click on 'Recovery'.
  3. Here, click on the 'Go Back' button beside the 'Previous versions of Windows' tab. This will start the Windows 11 Rollback process for you.
  4. In the first step, Microsoft will issue a familiar prompt that looks like a Windows 10 PC reset window. It then asks you to choose a reason why you want to go back to Windows 10. Choose whichever option you find suitable.
  5. No matter which option you choose, Microsoft will still issue a second prompt asking you to reconsider your decision by checking for any new updates, urging you to "fix your problems". Can do." Select 'No thanks' here.
  6. You are then issued a prompt that warns of a statutory Windows PC reset. For laptop users, the device will need to be plugged into power during this process. Interestingly, the prompt also states that users will have to reinstall "some" apps and programs that were once back in Windows 10 from Windows 11.
  7. The final prompt reminds users to keep their Microsoft account and device passwords handy, which will be required during the roll-back process.
  8. Click on 'Next' on the above option, and on the next screen, finally, click on the 'Revert to earlier build' button to start the process.
  9. You will then see a blank screen for a while, after which you will get a Windows loading screen with the message, 'Restore your previous version of Windows. This process will be automated and may require you to enter your device or Microsoft password wherever prompted.
  10. Once this complete setup is complete, you will have your Windows 10 build back on your PC.

Will Upgrading to Windows 10 Delete Everything?

No, downgrading to Windows 10 will not delete any of your data, if everything goes as it should. Sometimes, issues with the installation process can cause a rollback or update to be faulty, in which case you may need to reset your PC and install Windows from scratch.

It is only in these cases that you may lose your data, but as long as the installation process goes without any glitches, your data should not be deleted from your PC.

Thanks for reading this article till the end.

Windows 11 Compatibility Check: How To Know If Your Windows 10 Laptop Or Desktop Can Be Upgraded?